Claim $160 Venture Data, Public Opinion Survey Calls TCPA Class Action Settlement

6
229

Who is a Class Member

You are included in the Venture Data, Public Opinion Survey Calls TCPA Class Action Settlement “if, on June 11, August 19, or September 9, 2014, Venture Data placed a call to your cellular telephone line, using the Pro-T-S or CFMC dialer, and as part of a Public Opinion Strategies survey.”

If you don’t qualify for this settlement, check out our database of other class action settlements you may be eligible for.


Settlement Amount

  • $2,100,000.00

Estimated Award

  • $160

Your exact payout will depend on the number of valid claim forms submitted. Class Counsel estimate you will receive approximately $160 per claim before Court-approved deductions for costs, service payments, and attorneys’ fees—but this is only an estimate.


Proof of Purchase

  • You will need to provide your Claimant Identification Number (on your individual settlement notice) or the phone number on which you received survey calls from Venture Data.

Claim Form

  • class action lawsuits

Venture Data, Public Opinion Survey Calls TCPA Settlement Notes

  • Mey v. Venture Data LLC and Public Opinion Strategies, LLC
  • Case No. 5:14-cv-123
  • Pending in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of West Virginia

In January 2016, plaintiff Diana Mey filed this class action lawsuit to enforce the consumer-privacy provision of the Telephone Consumer Protection Act – a federal statute enacted in 1991 in response to widespread public outrage about the increasing practice of nuisance telephone calls.

According to the TCPA complaint, Public Opinion Strategies directed Venture Data to place computer-dialed telephone calls to Mey and other Class members’ cell phones without prior express consent. Mey says that on August 19, 2014 she received a computer-generated autodialed call from a representative calling from Venture Data. During the call, the caller and her supervisor informed Mey that their computers “randomly” calls certain numbers using software.

What’s more is that many of the phone numbers autodialed, including Mey’s was registered on the national Do Not Call Registry. A person whose number is on the Do Not Call Registry, and who has received more than one telephone call within any twelve-month period in violation of the TCPA, can sue the violator and seek statutory damages.

The defendants deny any wrongdoing in this case. Complete details about the case and settlement are provided on the Venture Data, Public Opinion Survey Calls TCPA settlement website.

Class members who wish to object to or exclude themselves from the Venture Data, Public Opinion Survey Calls TCPA settlement must do so by June 11, 2018. Class members who wish to participate in the settlement must submit a claim form on or before June 11, 2018.


Important Dates

  • 6/11/18: Claim Form Deadline
  • 6/11/18: Objection or Exclusion Deadline
  • 9/6/18: Final Hearing at 10:00 am ET* (class members do not need to attend this hearing in order to receive a slice of the settlement pie).

*Settlement Class Members who wish to speak at the hearing should check www.VentureDataClassAction.com to confirm that the date or time of the Hearing has not been changed.


Contact Information

  • Mail: Venture Data Settlement, Settlement Administrator, P.O. Box 185, Claysburg, PA 16625
  • Phone: 1-844-763-9230

Class Counsel


Settlement Website

6 COMMENTS

  1. Yes I had received my settlement check around the 10 th of NOVEMBER of 2018, however upon receiving said check I attempted to cash the check that same evening and was denied down right denied the cashing od said check because of the error of ommittance of the expiration date actually printed on the check was told that there’s three major factors that are a priority for authentication of legal or vLid check of any sort is the full amount printed numerically, the signature on face of check and the expiration date, I attempted two other separate check cashing institution nationally known also locating an actual physical Citibank here in DENVER, CO. which turned out to be a maJor fIlure by the way was repeadetly informed that without the expiration date printed on the check itself and not on the attached letter statement of said expiration date and the limited amount of time to cash or return check for a reissuence at the return address provided on the upper portion of the attached letter to settlement check. ALSO I spoke to a CITIBANK representative and her supervisor and was told to do as the letter instructs about returning the check along with a brief explanation of reason (s) requesting a check reissuence and I’ve heard, nor seen much less received anything similar nor somewhat resembling whatsoever of this mysterious VALID SETTLEMENT CHECK issued out to me. Please someone, anyone help me with answers to my dilemma. Which I sent back out on the night of November 15th 2018.

  2. Yes I had received my settlement check around the 10 th of NOVEMBER of 2018, however upon receiving said check from THE MEY VS. VENTURE TCPA CASE, I attempted to cash the check that same evening and was down right denied cashing of said check because of the error of omitting the printed expiration date on the actual check itself, I was told that there’s three major factors that legally must be present on a check to be considered authentic, valid check of any sort is the full amount printed numerically, the signature on face of check and the expiration date, I attempted two other separate check cashing institutios nationally known also locating an actual physical Citibank here in DENVER, CO. which turned out to be a maJor failure by the way. I was repeadetly informed that without the expiration date printed on the check itself. ONLY THE attached letter/statement. CONTAINED THE EXPIRATION DATE to cash or return check for a reissuence at the return address provided on the upper portion of the attached settlement CHECK STATEMENT. ALSO I spoke to a CITIBANK representative and her supervisor and was told to do as the letter instructs about returning the check along with a letter briefly exclamating the return of check and my reason (s) of requesting a heck reissuence, Please someone, anyone help me with answers to my dilemma. Which I sent back out on the night of November 15th 2018.

  3. Yes I had received my settlement check around the 10 th of NOVEMBER of 2018, however upon receiving said check from THE MEY VS. VENTURE TCPA CASE, I attempted to cash the check that same evening and was down right denied cashing of said check because of the error of omitting the printed expiration date on the actual check itself, I was told that there’s three major factors that legally must be present on a check to be considered authentic, valid check of any sort is the full amount printed numerically, the signature on face of check and the expiration date, I attempted two other separate check cashing institutions nationally known also locating an actual physical Citibank here in DENVER, CO. which turned out to be a maJor failure by the way. I was repeadetly informed that without the expiration date printed on the check itself. ONLY THE attached letter/statement. CONTAINED THE EXPIRATION DATE to cash or return check for a reissuence at the return address provided on the upper portion of the attached settlement CHECK STATEMENT. ALSO I spoke to a CITIBANK representative and her supervisor and was told to do as the letter instructs of returning the check along with a letter briefly explaining the return of check and my reason (s) of requesting a check reissuence, Please someone, anyone help me with answers to my dilemma. Which I sent back out on the night of November 15th 2018.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here